Halliburton and Oil States International Win Prestigious NOIA Safety in Seas Awards

Halliburton and Oil States International Win Prestigious NOIA Safety in Seas Awards

The National Ocean Industries Association (NOIA) announces that Halliburton and Oil States International are the winners of the 2023 NOIA Safety in Seas Awards competition.

Halliburton is the 2023 NOIA Safety in Seas Safety Practice Award winner and Oil States is recognized for the 2023 NOIA Safety in Seas Culture of Safety award.

The Safety Practice Award recognizes specific technologies, approaches, methods, or projects with direct and demonstrable impacts on improving safety. The Culture of Safety Award honors overall organizational immersion in and commitment to safety, which has resulted in remarkable, measurable, and sustained safety performance over a prolonged period of time.

2 Halliburton logoNOIA president Erik Milito congratulates Halliburton and Oil States International, saying, "The success of American offshore energy demonstrates that safety is a collective effort. The Safety in Seas entries showcase the full spectrum of offshore energy companies, including those in oil and gas, wind, and service and supply segments, all prioritizing safety in their operations. Notably, Halliburton and Oil States have taken an expansive approach towards safety, implementing programs and processes that translate to both company-wide and industry-wide safety performance improvements. We extend our gratitude to all the applicants for their strong submissions and unwavering commitment to safety and safety innovation."

Summer Condarco, senior vice president, Service Quality, Continuous Improvement, and Chief HSE Officer for Halliburton, said, “At Halliburton, HSE and service quality are at the heart of everything we do. We continuously assess for opportunities to advance our strong safety culture, and initiatives like 5 Checks to Go and our Risk Management program are essential to this effort. We are honored to receive this prestigious award from NOIA that recognizes our employee commitment to offshore safety.”

“As a technology-focused manufacturing and energy services company, safety is a cornerstone of our culture, which is embedded in our processes and in the products and services we provide,” explained Cindy B. Taylor, Oil States’ President and Chief Executive Officer. “We are extremely proud to receive the Culture of Safety Award recognizing the commitment of our global organization, at every level, to continuously improve our safety processes to positively impact the health and safety of our employees, and the communities that we work in.”

Halliburton is recognized for the Safety Practice award for its Risk Management and 5 Checks to Go programs, which are part of Halliburton’s “Journey to ZERO” vision of achieving zero safety incidents, zero environmental incidents, and zero non-productive time. Using a digital delivery platform and the 5 Checks to Go program to standardize safety processes, Halliburton reduced its HSE lost time injury rate from the previous year and improved service quality, achieving a historical best non-productive time performance. Halliburton also shared its Risk Management and 5 Checks to Go programs with other companies during several energy industry forums.

3 oil states industries inc logo vectorOil States is recognized for the Culture of Safety Award for the overlapping suite of processes designed to improve safety performance across the company’s global operations. These processes include: executive commitment and monitoring; clear communication of vision; development and implementation of structured management systems (including training, surveillance, reporting and analytical safety tools); and the consistently applied commitment of each employee to protect themselves and others. Since 2013, Oil States has achieved dramatic reductions in the number of injuries and lost time events across its workforce.

The award-winning entries from Halliburton and OSI were evaluated by an independent panel of judges from the U.S. Coast Guard, the Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement, the National Academy of Science’s Transportation Research Board, and two industry safety consultants. There were 13 applications between the two Safety in Seas Categories.

NOIA has held the SIS awards competition since 1978 to recognize those who contribute to improving the safety of life in the offshore energy industry. The awards are sponsored by Compass Publications.


Corporate Headquarters

Ocean News & Technology
is a publication of TSC Strategic

8502 SW Kansas Ave
Stuart, FL 34997